The beloved British fantasy author Terry Pratchett passed away this week after a long battle with Alzheimer’s disease. Tributes have been pouring in from readers and fellow writers, including Neil Gaiman who collaborated with Terry Pratchett on the 1990 novel Good Omens.

Pratchett was most famous for his massive Discworld series that spans forty novels. The series is so sprawling that many readers are unsure where to start. If you are new to Pratchett and want to start reading the series, the following infographic by Krzysztof Kietzman is very helfpul. (You can find the graphic in different languages and older editions at Kietzman’s Pinterest page.)

The Discworld novels take place in a magical flat world that rests on four elephants who ride through space on the back of a giant turtle. The books are mostly able to be read by themselves, but there are a few major threads each with their own starting point. Pick a starter novel in a thread (the cowardly wizard Rincewind, the personification of Death, etc.) and move your way through.

Discworld graph

8 Responses

  1. Readathon 2016: Βιβλία 11-15 – Zizeloni van Kat

    […] Τα βιβλία του Discworld δεν είναι αναγκαίο να διαβαστούν με τη σειρά. Και όλοι λένε ότι το πρώτο δεν είναι και τόσο καλό. Αλλά υπάρχουν υποκατηγορίες. Αυτό το βιβλίο για παράδειγμα είναι το πρώτο της σειράς Witches. Για περισσότερες πληροφορίες, δείτε αυτό το καταπληκτικό infographic. […]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.