Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel Wins Arthur C. Clarke Award

Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven has just won the 2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award, one of science fiction’s most prestigious awards. Mandel’s best-selling post-apocalyptic novel about a traveling theater company performing Shakespeare after a plague destroys most of humanity has been praised by both literary and genre critics and readers. The book was a finalist for the National Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, and the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, but — as Mandel’s above tweet suggests — this is the first major prize the book has won. (You can read our review of Station Eleven here.)

About the Author

More Like This

Predicting the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Which book will come out ahead on April 15?

Apr 12 - Bradley Sides

Do We Still Need the Nobel Prize in Literature?

After last year’s scandal the Academy is awarding two prizes — and attempting to change

Mar 8 - Carrie V. Mullins

Why Are Men So Much Worse At Writing Sex Than Women?

Male authors dominate the Bad Sex in Fiction awards, and it’s no coincidence

Dec 18 - Lisa Locascio