Here Is the 2016 International Dylan Thomas Prize Shortlist

Drawing from published poetry, novels, short stories, and drama, the International Dylan Thomas Prize honors the best literary work written in the English language by an author aged 39 or under. Created in partnership with Swansea University in 2006, the prize is named for the Welsh poet Dylan Thomas, author of classics such as “Do not go gentle into that good night” and “A Child’s Christmas in Wales.” (And yes, who infamously died at age 39 after a drinking binge at New York’s White Horse Tavern.)

The winner, announced on May 15th, will receive £30,000 in prize money. Past recipients include Joshua Ferris, Maggie Shipstead, and Lucy Caldwell.

2016 International Dylan Thomas Prize Shortlist

Pond by Claire Louise-Bennet (short stories)

The Tusk that Did the Damage by Tania James (fiction)

Disinformation by Frances Lewiston (poetry)

Physical by Andrew McMillan (poetry)

Grief is a Thing With Feathers by Max Porter (fiction)

The Year of the Runaways by Sanjeev Sahota (fiction)

About the Author

More Like This

We Are Writing Against Our Own Erasure

Award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson's address to the recipients of this year's Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards

Sep 17 - Jacqueline Woodson

Predicting the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Which book will come out ahead on April 15?

Apr 12 - Bradley Sides

Do We Still Need the Nobel Prize in Literature?

After last year’s scandal the Academy is awarding two prizes — and attempting to change

Mar 8 - Carrie V. Mullins