Electric Literature announces nominees for 2016 Pushcart Prize

Electric Lit relies on contributions from our readers to help make literature more exciting, relevant, and inclusive. Please support our work by becoming a member today, or making a one-time donation here.

by Ben Apatoff

Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading is pleased to announce our nominees for the upcoming Pushcart Prize. The anthology, which has been published every year since 1976 and honors “small presses” writers, featuring short stories, essays, poetry, novel excerpts and more. Our complete list of nominees is below, in alphabetical order by author:

  1. “Man V. Nature” by Diane Cook
  2. “Night Music” by Joe Fassler
  3. “Recovery Period” by Sasha Graybosch
  4. “The Answer” by Mary Morris
  5. “A Faded Sense” by Dina Nayeri
  6. “Here Lies Gerald” by Rob Travieso

Expect the Prize winners to be announced early next year, and learn more about the Pushcart Prize, including past winners and submission guidelines, here.

More Like This

What 2020 Booker Nominee Should You Read, Based on Your Quarantine Habits?

Are you solving puzzles on repeat or working in bed? Let us tell you what to read next

Jul 30 - Jae-Yeon Yoo

Visiting the Local Greasy Spoon with an Actual Saint

"Prayer for the Ides of February" by Caitlin Campbell

Jun 22 - Caitlin Campbell

Why All Americans Should Read “Celestial Bodies”

The Man Booker International winner has nothing to do with Americans, and that's precisely why we need it

Nov 26 - Carrie V. Mullins
Thank You!