The Winners of the 2017 Whiting Awards

Electric Lit relies on contributions from our readers to help make literature more exciting, relevant, and inclusive. Please support our work by becoming a member today, or making a one-time donation here.

10 promising writers just received $50K each. Time to celebrate.

The winners of the 2017 Whiting Awards have just been announced, which means that 10 talented writers will soon be walking the streets of Manhattan’s Upper West Side with a skip in their step and a cool $50K in their pockets. Or maybe this is a giant novelty check situation? Either way, you can likely catch them at the Columbus & 77th Shake Shack, where flush literati go to celebrate. Electric Literature is live-tweeting from the scene.

Enough ado. The 2017 winners are:

Kaitlyn Greenidge Fiction
Tony Tulathimutte Fiction
Clare Barron Drama
Lisa Halliday Fiction
Jen Beagin Fiction
James Ijames Drama
Francisco Cantú Nonfiction
Clarence Coo Drama
Simone White Poetry
Phillip B. Williams Poetry

The Whiting Awards annually identify “exceptional new writers who have yet to make their mark in the literary culture” and aim to provide them with funds to afford “a first opportunity to devote themselves fully to writing.”

You can get a taste of the winners’ work right here in Electric Literature.

To date, the Whiting Foundation, with an endowment from the late Flora Ettlinger Whiting, has awarded more than $7 million to over 300 writers. Past winners include Colson Whitehead, Elif Batuman, David Foster Wallace, Tony Kushner, Denis Johnson, Mary Karr, Ocean Vuong, Jonathan Franzen, August Wilson and Adam Johnson. Congratulations to this year’s grantees.

More Like This

Visiting the Local Greasy Spoon with an Actual Saint

"Prayer for the Ides of February" by Caitlin Campbell

Jun 22 - Caitlin Campbell

Why All Americans Should Read “Celestial Bodies”

The Man Booker International winner has nothing to do with Americans, and that's precisely why we need it

Nov 26 - Carrie V. Mullins

Who Will Win the National Book Award for Fiction, According to My Dad

The only prediction you really need is the opinion of a man who has not read any of the books yet

Nov 19 - McKayla Coyle
Thank You!